Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) for Women With Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting

Official Title

Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) for Women With Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting

Summary:

Docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) is an omega-3 long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid (n-3 LCPUFA). N-3 LCPUFA are essential fatty acids in the diet. The majority of n-3 LCPUFA in the diet is alpha-linolenic acid (ALA). While DHA can be synthesized from ALA and other n-3 LCPUFA in the body, endogenous synthesis is low. Consequently, the only way to significantly increase levels of DHA in tissues is by directly consuming this fatty acid. Common sources of DHA are fatty fish, fish oil and omega-3 supplements and fortified foods.

DHA is readily incorporated into membrane phospholipids and induces changes in the properties of the cell membrane including altered fluidity; permeability and membrane transport as well as activity of membrane bound receptors and enzymes.

It is well established that changes in membrane DHA has multiple effects in the body, including modulation of neurological, immune, and cardiovascular functions. In breast cancer, DHA increases sensitivity of breast cancer cells to different chemotherapeutic agents, and in animal models of breast cancer, dietary DHA decreases tumour growth. The investigator's preclinical studies demonstrate that DHA increases efficacy of both doxorubicin and docetaxel, two agents commonly used in the adjuvant setting for breast cancer treatment. Furthermore, DHA mitigates chemotherapy induced weight loss in mice, and reduces paclitaxel toxicities in breast cancer patients, strongly indicating that DHA protects against toxicity in normal tissues. Directly relevant to this study, increased DHA in breast adipose tissue correlates with improved response to chemotherapy, and increased dietary intake of n-3 LCPUFA, including DHA, results in increased DHA incorporation in breast adipose tissue. Lastly, in advanced metastatic breast cancer, DHA supplementation correlated with improved outcomes in a subset of patients. Consequently, the Investigators hypothesize that the therapeutic index (efficacy: toxicity ratio) will be improved with the addition of DHA. In this clinical trial, the Investigators will explore the benefit of DHA supplementation in combination with neoadjuvant chemotherapy in patients with early breast cancer.

RESEARCH QUESTION & OBJECTIVES: The Investigators propose to evaluate incorporation of DHA in women with breast cancer in treatment naïve patients in combination with chemotherapy, and assess potential benefit of DHA supplementation in breast cancer patients, using change in Ki67 labeling index (marker of proliferation) as a marker of efficacy. This study will further investigate the relationship between DHA in plasma phospholipids (as a potential biomarker of tumour incorporation) and effect on systemic immune function.

METHODS: Patients directed to receive chemotherapy will receive capsules, each containing a minimum of 400 mg of DHA in the form of DHA enriched triglyceride oil or placebo (corn/soy oil blend) to be taken orally (11 capsules/day, throughout day as preferred by participant) for a total of 5 g DHA or placebo, for 12-18 weeks (84-126 days) beginning at the start of the first cycle of chemotherapy, and continued throughout 4-6 cycles of chemotherapy (3 weeks/ cycle). DHA will be discontinued 21 days after the last administration of cytotoxic chemotherapy. Tumour biopsies at baseline and post surgical removal will be assessed for Ki67 status as well as for markers of apoptosis and stem cell presence (by immunohistochemistry). Blood samples taken at baseline prior to each round of chemotherapy will be assessed for immune markers and plasma phospholipid content.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Percent change in Ki67 index from baseline to surgical excision.
Secondary Outcome:
  • Percent of DHA in plasma phospholipids between DHA and placebo arms.
  • Change in immune function (e.g. ability to produce IL-2 after stimulation) following DHA supplementation in combination with chemotherapy.
  • Age of participants and other factors affecting DHA incorporation
  • Percent change on markers of apoptosis (e.g. caspase-3) following DHA or placebo supplementation.
  • Pathological complete response rate
  • Comparison of rate of chemotherapy associated grade 3 and 4 toxicities between treatment arms.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) for Women With Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting

Titre officiel

Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) for Women With Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting

Sommaire:

L’acide docosahexaénoïque (ADH) est un acide gras oméga-3 polyinsaturé à chaîne longue (n-3 LCPUFA). Les n-3 LCPUFA sont des acides gras essentiels dans l’alimentation. Dans l’alimentation, les n-3 LCPUFA sont majoritairement de l’acide alpha-linolénique (ALA). Bien que l’ADH puisse être synthétisé à partir de l’ALA et d’autres n-3 LCPUFA dans l’organisme, la synthèse endogène est faible. Par conséquent, la seule façon d’augmenter significativement les niveaux d’ADH dans les tissus est de consommer directement cet acide gras. Les sources courantes d’ADH sont les poissons gras, l’huile de poisson, les suppléments d’oméga-3 et les aliments enrichis. 

L’ADH est facilement incorporé dans les phospholipides membranaires et induit des changements dans les propriétés de la membrane cellulaire, y compris une modification de la fluidité, de la perméabilité et du transport membranaire, ainsi que de l’activité des récepteurs et des enzymes liés aux membranes. 

Il est bien établi que les modifications de l’ADH membranaire ont de multiples effets sur l’organisme, y compris la modulation des fonctions neurologiques, immunitaires et cardiovasculaires. Dans le cancer du sein, l’ADH augmente la sensibilité des cellules cancéreuses du sein à différents agents chimiothérapeutiques, et dans les modèles animaux de cancer du sein, l’ADH alimentaire diminue la croissance tumorale. Les études précliniques du chercheur démontrent que l’ADH augmente l’efficacité de la doxorubicine et du docétaxel, deux agents couramment utilisés dans le traitement adjuvant du cancer du sein. De plus, l’ADH atténue la perte de poids induite par la chimiothérapie chez la souris et réduit la toxicité du paclitaxel chez les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein, ce qui indique clairement qu’il protège contre la toxicité dans les tissus sains. Directement pertinente pour cette étude, l’augmentation de l’ADH dans le tissu adipeux du sein est en corrélation avec une meilleure réponse à la chimiothérapie, et l’augmentation de l’apport alimentaire de n-3 LCPUFA, y compris d’ADH, entraîne une incorporation accrue de cet acide dans le tissu adipeux du sein. Enfin, dans le cancer du sein métastatique avancé, la supplémentation en ADH était en corrélation avec une amélioration des résultats dans un sous-groupe de patientes. Par conséquent, les chercheurs émettent l’hypothèse que l’indice thérapeutique (rapport efficacité/toxicité) sera amélioré par l’ajout d’ADH. Dans cet essai clinique, les chercheurs exploreront les avantages d’une supplémentation en ADH en association avec une chimiothérapie néoadjuvante chez les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein précoce. 

QUESTION DE RECHERCHE ET OBJECTIFS : Les chercheurs proposent d’évaluer l’incorporation de l’ADH chez les femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein qui n’ont jamais reçu de traitement en association avec une chimiothérapie, et d’évaluer les avantages potentiels d’une supplémentation en ADH chez les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein, en utilisant le changement de l’indice de marquage Ki67 (indicateur de la prolifération) comme indicateur d’efficacité. Cette étude examinera plus en détail la relation entre l’ADH dans les phospholipides plasmatiques (comme biomarqueur potentiel de l’incorporation tumorale) et son effet sur la fonction immunitaire systémique. 

MÉTHODES : Les patientes qui reçoivent une chimiothérapie recevront des capsules, chacune contenant au moins 400 mg d’ADH sous forme d’huile de triglycérides enrichie en ADH ou de placebo (mélange d’huile de maïs et d’huile de soja) à prendre par voie orale (11 capsules par jour, au choix de la participante, pendant toute la journée), pour un total de 5 g d’ADH ou de placebo, pendant 12 à 18 semaines (84 à 126 jours) au début du premier cycle de chimiothérapie, et ce, pendant 4 à 6 cycles (3 semaines/cycle). L’ADH sera interrompu 21 jours après la dernière administration de chimiothérapie cytotoxique. Les biopsies tumorales au début de l’étude et après l’ablation chirurgicale seront évaluées en vue de déterminer le statut de Ki-67 ainsi que les marqueurs de l’apoptose et la présence de cellules souches (par immunohistochimie). Les échantillons de sang prélevés au départ avant chaque cycle de chimiothérapie seront évalués pour les marqueurs immunitaires et la teneur en phospholipides plasmatiques.

Description de l'essai

Primary Outcome:

  • Percent change in Ki67 index from baseline to surgical excision.
Secondary Outcome:
  • Percent of DHA in plasma phospholipids between DHA and placebo arms.
  • Change in immune function (e.g. ability to produce IL-2 after stimulation) following DHA supplementation in combination with chemotherapy.
  • Age of participants and other factors affecting DHA incorporation
  • Percent change on markers of apoptosis (e.g. caspase-3) following DHA or placebo supplementation.
  • Pathological complete response rate
  • Comparison of rate of chemotherapy associated grade 3 and 4 toxicities between treatment arms.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer