Pre-operative Inspiratory Muscle Training Program to Prevent Pulmonary Complications After Thoracic Surgery

Official Title

Pre-operative Inspiratory Muscle Training Program to Prevent Pulmonary Complications After Thoracic Surgery

Summary:

Postoperative pulmonary complications are the most common complications after thoracic surgery. In the literature, pulmonary complications after thoracic surgery are present in more than 37.5% of patients. No study investigates the impact of preoperative inspiratory muscle exercises program on pulmonary complications after thoracic surgery.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Numbers of postoperative pulmonary complications
Secondary Outcome:
  • Numbers of morbidity and mortality
  • Length of stay (by days)

Postoperative pulmonary complications are the most common complications after thoracic surgery. In the literature, pulmonary complications after thoracic surgery are present in more than 37.5% of patients. Pulmonary complications include atelectasia, pneumonia and respiratory failure.

In order to reduce the pulmonary complications, other surgical specialties, such as cardiac and esophagus surgeries, use preoperative inspiratory muscle training programs. No study investigates the impact of preoperative inspiratory muscle exercises program on pulmonary complications after thoracic surgery.

Project Design: Randomized study on patients at-risk of pulmonary complications. Two parallel groups are recruited for comparison between preoperative inspiratory muscle training program and the standard of care (without preoperative inspiratory muscle training program). In the study, 2 groups of 100 patients each are recruited in thoracic clinic. A recruitment period of approximately 8 months is needed in order to establish if the inspiratory muscular training significantly reduce the pulmonary complications in the patients at-risk. The P. value to determine a significant impact is 0.05 with a power of 0.80. We aim to reduce pulmonary complications with the inspiratory muscle training program by 50%.

Randomization Method: Computerized, secure and anonymous randomization using a secure information program.

Population under study: Recruitment in thoracic clinic, during the initial consultation for a thoracic surgery in the department of thoracic surgery of the University of Montreal Hospital Centre, of a total of 200 patients. One hundred patients in the preoperative inspiratory muscle training group and 100 patients in the control group with usual care preoperatively (standard of care).

The study population is at-risk of pulmonary complications patients. The risk factors of pulmonary complications are patients over 70 years, presence of cough and sputum, diabetes, active smoking, FEV1 (forced expiratory volume per second) less than 75% or under respiratory pump, body mass index over 27 kg / m2, FEV1 less than 80%, Tiffeneau index less than 70%, NYHA II (New York Heart Association Classification) or sleep apnea.

Analysis A comparison of pulmonary complications after surgery in patients who participated in the inspiratory muscle training program and a control group who will have the usual care of a postoperative thoracic surgery.

After surgery, perioperative follow-up including perioperative complications, duration of hospitalization and complications and mortality after 30 days of surgery.

Satisfaction and motivation will be assessed postoperatively at discharge and at 30-day postoperative follow-up.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires pour prévenir les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique

Titre officiel

Programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires pour prévenir les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique

Sommaire:

Les complications pulmonaires postopératoires sont les plus fréquentes après une chirurgie thoracique. Dans la littérature, les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique sont présentes chez plus de 37,5 % des patients. Aucune étude n’examine l’impact du programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires sur les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Nombre de complications pulmonaires postopératoires

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Chiffres de morbidité et de mortalité
  • Durée du séjour (en jours)

Les complications pulmonaires postopératoires sont les plus fréquentes après une chirurgie thoracique. Dans la littérature, les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique sont présentes chez plus de 37,5 % des patients. Les complications pulmonaires comprennent l’atélectasie, la pneumonie et l’insuffisance respiratoire. 

Afin de réduire les complications pulmonaires, d’autres spécialités chirurgicales, telles que les chirurgies cardiaques et de l’œsophage, utilisent des programmes d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires. Aucune étude n’examine l’impact du programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires sur les complications pulmonaires après une chirurgie thoracique. 

Conception du projet : Étude à répartition aléatoire menée chez des patients à risque de complications pulmonaires. Deux groupes parallèles sont recrutés pour comparer le programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires et le traitement standard (sans programme d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires). Dans l’étude, 2 groupes de 100 patients chacun sont recrutés en clinique thoracique. Une période de recrutement d’environ 8 mois est nécessaire afin d’établir si l’entraînement des muscles inspiratoires réduit significativement les complications pulmonaires chez les patients à risque. La valeur P. pour déterminer un impact significatif est de 0,05 avec une puissance de 0,80. Nous visons à réduire de 50 % les complications pulmonaires grâce au programme d’entraînement des muscles inspiratoires. 

Méthode de répartition aléatoire : répartition aléatoire informatisée, sécurisée et anonyme utilisant un programme d’information sécurisé. 

Population à l’étude : Recrutement en clinique thoracique, lors de la consultation initiale pour une chirurgie thoracique au service de chirurgie thoracique du Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal, sur un total de 200 patients. Cent patients dans le groupe d’entraînement préopératoire des muscles inspiratoires et 100 patients dans le groupe témoin avec les soins habituels préopératoires (traitement standard). 

La population à l’étude est à risque de complications pulmonaires. Les facteurs de risque de complications pulmonaires sont les suivants : patients de plus de 70 ans, présence de toux et d’expectoration, diabète, tabagisme actif, VEFS (volume expiratoire forcé par seconde) inférieur à 75 % ou sous pompe respiratoire, indice de masse corporelle supérieur à 27 kg/m2, VEFS inférieur à 80 %, indice de Tiffeneau inférieur à 70 %, NYHA II (New York Heart Association Classification) ou apnée du sommeil. 

Analyse d’une comparaison des complications pulmonaires après la chirurgie chez les patients ayant participé au programme d’entraînement des muscles inspiratoires et un groupe témoin qui recevra les soins habituels d’une chirurgie thoracique postopératoire. 

Après la chirurgie, le suivi périopératoire comprendra les complications périopératoires, la durée de l’hospitalisation et les complications et la mortalité 30 jours après la chirurgie. 

La satisfaction et la motivation seront évaluées après l’opération à la sortie de l’hôpital et lors du suivi postopératoire à 30 jours.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer