Metformin, Neo-adjuvant Temozolomide and Hypo- Accelerated Radiation Therapy Followed by Adjuvant TMZ in Patients With GBM

Official Title

Metformin and Neo-adjuvant Temozolomide and Hypofractionated Accelerated Limited-margin Radiation Therapy Followed by Adjuvant Temozolomide in Patients With Glioblastoma Multiforme (M-HARTT STUDY)

Summary:

Glioblastoma Multiforme is one of the most common, and unfortunately one of the most aggressive brain tumours in adults with most of the patients recurring and dying of the disease with a median survival of 16 months from diagnosis.

Current treatment for patients with newly diagnosed Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) is safe maximal surgical resection followed by concomitant conventional Radiation Therapy (RT) delivered in 6 weeks + Temozolomide (TMZ) followed by TMZ for 6 to 12 cycles.

Recent scientific research has shown that Metformin, a common drug used to treat diabetes mellitus, may improve the results of the treatment in patients with a variety of cancers, such as breast, colon, and prostate cancer. Metformin is an attractive and safe medication to be used in this group of patients because of its very low toxicity.

In our centre the investigators have been using TMZ for 2 weeks prior to a short course (4 weeks) of RT which equivalent to the standard RT of 6 weeks. Temozolomide is used 2 weeks before RT + TMZ, and this is followed by the 6 to 12 cycles of TMZ. Our results are quiet encouraging with a median survival of 20 months, and acceptable toxicity.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Percent of patients completing the study treatment
Secondary Outcome:
  • To assess toxicity of the regimen
Metformin, a drug with a very safe toxicity profile, is an attractive molecule to be tested in patients with newly diagnosed GBM in a phase I clinical trial. This is based on its potential to inhibit the proliferation of GBM CSCs through its mechanism of action which is similar to IR and TMZ. Metformin, IR, and TMZ stimulate AMPK leading to the subsequent inhibition of cellular proliferation. Therefore, it is hypothesized that the addition of Metformin to concomitant IR and TMZ may increase the efficiency of IR and TMZ, which are currently considered as the standard of care for patients with GBM. In addition, Metformin lowers blood glucose levels, and subsequently reduces the insulin and Insulin-Growth-factors which are growth-promoting factors with a direct impact on GBM cellular proliferation and invasion.

Metformin may improve the outcomes of patients with GBM when added to current treatment consisting of maximal safe surgical resection followed by neo-adjuvant TMZ and concomitant accelerated hypofractionated limited-margin XRT followed by adjuvant TMZ. Our Neuro-Oncology group at McGill University reviewed the results of an ongoing Phase II study in patients with GBM. A group of 33 patients were treated according to protocol, and with a median follow-up of 11 months, the median survival was 17.5 months which compares favourably to current results from standard treatment with a beneficial 2-week shortening of the XRT treatment time.

This is a phase II clinical trial to assess the feasibility and overall toxicity of adding Metformin to Neoadjuvant Temozolomide followed by concomitant Temozolomide and accelerated hypofractionated limited-margin radiation therapy and followed by adjuvant Temozolomide in patients with newly diagnosed GBM.

It is expected that the proposed study treatment will improve the median survival from current values of 20 months (current MUHC Neo-adjuvant Phase 2 data) to 25 months. This means an improved outcome of 25%. Using one-tailed statistics, and with a power of 0.8 and an alpha of 0.05, the sample size for this Phase II trial will be 50 patients.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Metformine, témozolomide néo-adjuvant et radiothérapie hypoaccélérée auprès de patients atteints de GBM

Titre officiel

Metformine avec témozolomide néo-adjuvant et radiothérapie accélérée hypofractionnée à marge minimale suivis de témozolomide adjuvant auprès de patients atteints de glioblastome multiforme (ÉTUDE M-HARTT)

Sommaire:

Le glioblastome multiforme est l’une des tumeurs cérébrales les plus courantes, et malheureusement, des plus agressives, recontrées chez les adultes, la plupart d’entre les malades rechutant et décédant des suites de cette affection caractérisée par une survie postdiagnostique médiane de 16 mois.

Le traitement actuel des patients chez qui est nouvellement diagnostiqué le glioblastome multiforme (GBM) est la résection chirurgicale maximale sécuritaire, suivie par la radiothérapie (RT) traditionnelle durant 6 semaines + témozolomide (TMZ), suivis de TMZ durant 6 à 12 cycles.

Des recherches récentes ont démontré que la metformine, un médicament utilisé couramment dans le traitement du diabète sucré, pourrait améliorer l’issue du traitement des patients atteints de différents cancers, dont celui du sein, du colon et de la prostate. La metformine est un médicament attrayant et sécuritaire à utiliser dans ce groupe de patients en raison de sa très faible toxicité.

Les chercheurs de notre centre ont utilisé le TMZ pendant 2 semaines avant une courte période (4 semaines) de RT équivalant à la RT standard de 6 semaines. Le témozolomide est utilisé 2 semaines avec la RT + TMZ, suivi par les 6 à 12 cycles de TMZ. Nos résultats sont assez encourageants, compte tenu d’une survie médiane de 20 mois et d’une toxicité acceptable.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Pourcentage de patients achevant le traitement à l’étude

Critère d’évaluation secondaire :

  • Évaluer la toxicité du schéma

La metformine, un médicament ayant un profil de toxicité très sécuritaire, est une molécule attrayante à mettre à l’essai auprès de patients ayant reçu un diagnostic récent de GBM dans le cadre d’un essai clinique de phase I, fondé sur son potentiel d’inhibition de la prolifération de CSC du GBM grâce à son mode d’action rappelant celui de la RI et du TMZ. La metformine, la RI et le TMZ stimulent l’AMPK, ce qui entraîne l’inhibition subséquente de la prolifération cellulaire. Par conséquent, une hypothèse veut que l’ajout de metformine au traitement RI et TMZ concomitant augmente l’efficacité de ce dernier, actuellement considéré comme traitement standard indiqué pour les patients atteints de GBM. En outre, la metformine abaisse le taux de glycémie et réduit subséquemment l’insuline et les facteurs de croissance insulinique, facteurs ayant un impact direct sur la prolifération et l’envahissement des cellules de GBM.

La metformine pourrait améliorer le sort des patients souffrant de GBM lorsqu’elle s’ajoute au traitement actuel qui consiste en la résection chirurgicale sécuritaire maximale, suivie de TMZ néo-adjuvant et radiothérapie accélérée hypofractionnée à marge minimale, suivis eux-mêmes du TMZ adjuvant. Notre groupe de neuro-oncologie de l’Université McGill a analysé les résultats d’une étude de phase II en cours auprès de patients atteints de GBM. Un groupe de 33 patients a été traité conformément au protocole, et avec un suivi médian de 11 mois, la survie médiane atteignait 17,5 mois, ce qui se compare avantageusement aux résultats actuellement obtenus avec le traitement standard, en plus du bénéfice du retranchement de 2 semaines de radiothérapie.

Cet essai clinique de phase II vise à évaluer la faisabilité et la toxicité globale de l’ajout de metformine au témozolomide néo-adjuvant suivi de témozolomide concomitant et de radiothérapie accélérée hypofractionnée à marge minimale, suivis de témozolomide adjuvant auprès de patients ayant nouvellement reçu un diagnostic de GBM.

Il est prévu que le traitement proposé à l’étude prolongera la période de survie médiane, qui est actuellement de 20 mois (données actuelles de la phase II néo-adjuvant du CUSM), à 25 mois, ce qui correspond à une amélioration de 25 % de l’issue. À l’aide de statistiques à intervalle unilatéral, et avec une puissance de 0,8 et une valeur alpha de 0,05, la taille d’échantillonnage de cet essai de phase II sera de 50 patients.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer